F.X. Caprara 10K Bash - July 21

Drake Jr. Wins 10K Bash at ESTA

Drake & Drake Share Spotlight with Wins at the F.X. Caprara Trailer Sales 10K Bracket Bash

We had a beautiful day for racing as we hosted the F.X. Caprara 10K Bracket Bash along with a Gamblers race. In the 10k race it was Carl Drake Jr. successfully defending his 10k win from last year as he scored the win by defeating James Smith Jr. CJ, who almost always drives his Chevy powered dragster, also entered his father's Nova in this race which allowed double entries. James Smith Jr. was in his familiar Mike Bos built Chevy powered dragster. Both drivers drove well all day long cutting great lights and running their dials while going through seven tough rounds of competition to earn their spot in the final round and a shot at the 10 Grand.


Summit E.T. Racing Series - July 22


DeSalvo, BeDell, Bingel Hoist Jr. Shootout Wallys

July 22 - Sunday's event concluded 2 days worth of high intensity, big payout bracket racing action which included the 10K to Win F.X. Caprara Bracket Bash on Saturday. Sunday's event was a regular Summit Racing E.T. Racing Series with the exception of Super Pro and a couple special classes added for the Jr.s and the Susan Koman Draggin for a Cure class. Here's a recap on Sunday's winners. 

Super Pro
The Super Pro class ran a special $2,000 to Win, 1/8th mile, non-points event and it was Bob Belvick taking measure of Josh Speck in the final for the big payday. Bob won the final on the line as his .523 to .554 starting line advantage was more than enough to cover Josh at the top end stripe. Both drivers nailed their dial-ins, each going .001-over with Bob running a 5.001 at 137.13 mph to Josh's 4.961 at 144.21 mph. Some awesome driving in the Super Pro final! Carl Drake Jr. almost had to rent a Brink's truck for the tow home as he fell 2 round wins short of an extremely profitable weekend at the strip!


Summit E.T. Racing Series - July 8

Justin Hardman launches 

July 8 - We returned to a regular Summit Racing E.T. Racing Series event on Sunday under clear skies and sunshine. 

78spSuper Pro
The Super Pro final came down to some family bragging rights to the winner as Carl Drake Sr. in his ’67 Chevy raced against his son Carl Jr. (CJ) who was in his dragster. CJ held a .508 to .517 reaction time advantage in the final and won with a 7.543 at 164.20 mph on his 7.55 dial, while Sr. settled for the runner up spot with a 9.082 at 147.46 mph run on his 9.11 dial. Nate Powers drove well all day and was rewarded with a semifinal round finish.

Justin Hardman scored for the second time in three weeks driving his ’95 Camaro to the win by stopping it’s former owner Steve Doss who was in his ’85 Monte Carlo. Justin laid a .509 light on Steve and throttled his way to the win with a 10.562 at 127.08 mph run on his 10.50 dial in. Steve had to settle for his second straight runner up with a .549 initiated, 10.157 at 131.96 mph run on his 10.13. Terry Lee fouled to Justin in the semis.


More Articles...

Page 19 of 26


ESTA's Valued Sponsors:

  • NAPA Auto Parts
  • Bill Lake Modular Homes
  • Can-Am Enterprises
  • Clinton Tractor
  • Extreme Exposures
  • FX Caprara Trailer Sales
  • Minuteman Press
  • Rock Auto Parts
  • LaPointe Photography

Gates open at 8:00 am
Time Trials begin at 9:30 am
Tech closes at 12:00 noon
Eliminations by 2:00pm

 All Access admission only $15.00.

Kids 8-15 only $5.00,
Under 8 are FREE

Conditions such as weather, breakdowns and Special Events may alter schedule.

Connect with us at:

facebook_32 youtube_32 twitter_32
ned_nhra Jrdragsterlogo sm

©2000-2016 ESTA Safety Park Dragstrip
Box 1189 - Cicero, NY 13039

Website Design and Maintenance by Extreme Exposures