Summit E.T. Racing Series - August 20

Howard Roberts Repeats in Street Money

Howard Roberts - Street Money Winner

August 20 - The Summit Racing E.T. Series NHRA drag racing at ESTA returned to action after a week off from point season racing.  Here's how the final rounds shook out and the boxscores below.

Brett VanBrocklin - Super Pro Winner

Super Pro
Brett VanBrocklin dropped an .008 to .030 reaction time deficit on Pete Winfrey and drove around Pete at the top end for the Super Pro win. Brett clicked off a 7.574 at 174.35 mph pass on his 7.55 dial in his winning effort. Pete was right there on his 7.974 E.T. on his 7.97 dial, but gave up too much ground at the tree and settled for the runner-up finish. Tom Samsel was the lone semifinalist.

Mason Fix - Pro Winner

Mason Fix took a slight starting line advantage over Gary Rolfe Jr. .051 to .060 and it was good enough to force Gary into a breakout run and score the Pro win. Dialing in at 12.08, Mason got the head start and drove to a solid 12.094 at 107.16 mph in his winning effort. Gary was ble to chase Mason down, but took too mush win stripe by a mere .004, tripping the timers at 11.466 on his 11.47 dial-in. Matt Forbes and Tony Ferrigno drove to semifinal finishes on the day.

Rob Eastman - Pro MX Winner

Pro MX
Pro MX action saw Rob Eastman score his first-ever Pro MX win aboard his Eastman Racing Ski-doo MXZ. Similar to the Pro final, Rob took the starting line advantage .034 to Dennis Boston's .050 light and ran a 10.474 on his 10.44 dial to take the win. Dennis also was forced into a breakout pass in effort to catch Rob and ran a too-quick 8.937 on his 8.94 dial to score the runner-up honors. Ryan Orizino and Brian Moulton were the semifinalists.

Street Money
Coming of the momentum of the August 6  Affordable Carpet Shootout win Howard Roberts scored his second-straight Street Money win by taking out Steve Seelman Sr. Howard netted a comfortable .047 to .081 reaction time advantage over Steve and was able to reel Steve's Pontiac in at the top end and ran a 10.766 on his 10.74 dial-in for the win. In effort to stay in front of Howard, Steve drove his Pontiac to a breakout 14.920 on his 14.98 dial-in and had to settle for the runner-up money. Gene Stankivitz and Steve English bowed out in the semis.

Dave Hubbard - Modified Winner

Dave Hubbard scored the Modified win as result of Steve Smith's -0.067 red light start. The sun was shining on Dave as he left the barn door open for Steve when his uncharacteristic .218 reaction would have normally spelled doom, but Dave ran a solid 11.624 on his 11.61 dial-in and got the win light. Steve drove his classic Mopar to a 10.337 on his 10.33 dial-in in his runner-up effort. Brad Watt and Dave Miller were the Mod class semifinalists.

Kurt Hagen - Street Trophy Winner

Street Trophy
Kurt Hagen scored the Street Trophy win in his 2011 Chevy Camaro over point leader Steve English and his '82 Cutlass. Steve took the reaction time advantage, but fell off his 12.57 dial and ran an off-paced 12.851 pass. Kurt cruised to a 12.544 at 99.14 mph pass on his 12.49 dial for the win. Jim Pipines and Steve Seelman Jr. made it to the semis.

Bob Salerno - Bike/Sled Winner

Bike/Sled Trophy
Bob Salerno had a .069 to .176 starting line advantage over Skip Tamburino and cruised to a winning 9.865 E.T. on his 9.85 dial to take the Bike/Sled Trophy win. Skip drove his Kawasaki to a breakout 9.625 at 132.77 mph pass on his 9.63 dial. Kevin Wuest was the lone semifinalist.

Jimmy O'Toole - Jr. Dragster Winner

Jr. Dragster
Jimmy O'Toole drove his '10 Halfscale to his second-straight Jr. Dragster win over Daniel Thorpe. Jimmy held a slight .070 to .087 R.T. advantage and drove to a winning 7.972 pass on his 7.94 dial-in. Daniel was right there, but not close enough as his 7.989 on her 7.96 dial was only good enough for the runner-up finish. Kimberlee Snell was the lone semifinalist.

Bob Salerno

That wraps it up for today's action.

By Pete DeSalvo Jr.
Winner Circle photos by Vicki Hopper


Super Pro

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Brett Van Brocklin Dragster .008 7.574, 174.35 7.55
R-Up Pete Winfrey Dragster .030 7.974, 156.73 7.97
Semis Tom Samsel


  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Mason Fix '69 Dodge .051 12.094, 107.16 12.08
R-Up Gary Rolfe Jr. '85 Chevy .060 11.466, 115.77 11.47
Semis Matt Forbes
Tony Ferrigno

Pro MX

  Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Rob Eastman '98 Ski-doo .034 10.474, 117.79 10.44
R-Up Dennis Boston Jr. '03 Ski-doo .050
8.937, 137.19 8.94
Semis Ryan Orizino
Brian Moulton

Street Money

  Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Howard Roberts '84 Firebird .047 10.766, 124.61 10.74
R-Up Steve Seelman Sr. '92 Pontiac .081 14.920, 90.74 14.98
Semis Gene Stankivitz
Steve English


Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Dave Hubbard '93 Ford .218 11.624, 116.21 11.61
R-Up Scott Smith '64 Plymouth - 0.067
10.337, 128.98 10.33
Semis Brad Watt
Dave Miller

Street Trophy

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Kurt Hagen '11 Camaro .086 12.544, 99.14 12.49
R-Up Steve English '82 Cutlass .059
12.851, 105.66 12.57
Semis Jim Pipines
Steve Seelman Jr.

Bike/Sled Trophy

Driver Vehicle R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Bob Salerno '06 Ski-doo .069 9.865, 124.33 9.85
R-Up Skip Tamburino '06 Kawasaki .176 9.625, 132.77 9.63
Semis Kevin Wuest

Jr. Dragster

Driver Car R.T. E.T./MPH Dial-in
Win Jimmy O'Toole '10 Halfscale .070 7.972, 81.11 7.94
R-Up Daniel Thorpe Jr. Dragster  .087 7.989, 80.17 7.96
Semis Kimberlee Snell

ESTA's Valued Sponsors:

  • NAPA Auto Parts
  • Bill Lake Modular Homes
  • Can-Am Enterprises
  • Clinton Tractor
  • Extreme Exposures
  • Minuteman Press
  • Rock Auto Parts
  • LaPointe Photography
  • NHRA Comp License
  • Nailed It Photography

2019 Race Schedule

2019 sched outside

Click to View 2019
Event Schedule



©2000-2019 ESTA Safety Park Dragstrip - Cicero, NY 13039
Website Design and Maintenance by Extreme Exposures